District of Columbia e-bike and e-trike laws
Yes. DC's law defines a 'motorized bicycle' as having 2 or 3 wheels, so a pedal e-trike whose motor tops out at 20 mph (with wheels at least 16 inches across) needs no license, registration or insurance. Faster machines are treated as motor vehicles. Ride in the street and bike lanes; rules for sidewalks and paths come from DC regulations and park rules, so check posted signs.
- License
- A motorized bicycle is not a 'motor vehicle' in DC, so no driver's license is required under the Code. (motorized bicycle)
- Registration
- Motorized bicycles are excluded from 'motor vehicle' for DC titling and registration, so no DMV registration, title or plate. (motorized bicycle)
- Insurance
- No insurance requirement was found for motorized bicycles; DC's insurance and registration duties attach to motor vehicles, which exclude them. (motorized bicycle)
- Helmet
- Riders and passengers under 16 must wear a helmet on a bicycle; the statute is written for human-powered bicycles, so whether it reaches motorized bicycles depends on DCMR rules (see unconfirmed). Adults are not required to wear one.
Does an e-trike count as an e-bike?
“Motorized bicycle" means a 2 or 3 wheeled vehicle with ... (ii) A vehicle with 2 or 3 wheels in contact with the ground, which are at least 16 inches in diameter”D.C. Code § 50-2201.02(11A) ↗
How the law sorts e-bikes
DC does not use Class 1/2/3 or a wattage limit. Its single category, 'motorized bicycle', needs a seat, 2 or 3 wheels at least 16 inches across, working pedals, and a motor that cannot push the bike past 20 mph on level ground. A Class 3 (28 mph) e-bike does not fit. The e-bike rebate law (D.C. Code § 50-921.27) uses the same definition for 'e-bike'.
How the trikes we list are treated in District of Columbia
135 of the 191 trikes we list fit District of Columbia's e-bike rules on their published figures. 12 need checking before you buy, and 44 don't publish enough to tell. We check motor power, top speed and the stated class. Not legal advice.
- Addmotor Grandtan TurboCheck before buying1000W rated motor, over the 750W e-bike limit.Model page: Addmotor Grandtan Turbo
- Aipas A8 Max Trekker EtrikeCheck before buying1300W rated motor, over the 750W e-bike limit.Model page: Aipas A8 Max Trekker Etrike
- CroSight T3 Classic 650WCheck before buying22 mph is over the 20 mph limit.Model page: CroSight T3 Classic 650W
- CroSight T3 Classic 750WCheck before buying22 mph is over the 20 mph limit.Model page: CroSight T3 Classic 750W
- CroSight T3 ProCheck before buying22 mph is over the 20 mph limit.Model page: CroSight T3 Pro
- HP Velotechnik Scorpion fs 26 S-PedelecCheck before buying28 mph is over the 20 mph limit.Model page: HP Velotechnik Scorpion fs 26 S-Pedelec
- Meet One Tour 2.0Check before buying25 mph is over the 20 mph limit.Model page: Meet One Tour 2.0
- Rungu Dualie RuggedCheck before buying24 mph is over the 20 mph limit.Model page: Rungu Dualie Rugged
- Rungu Dualie StandardCheck before buying24 mph is over the 20 mph limit.Model page: Rungu Dualie Standard
- Rungu Dualie SteepCheck before buying24 mph is over the 20 mph limit.Model page: Rungu Dualie Steep
- Sixthreezero EVRYjourney Family Cargo ETrike 1000WCheck before buying1000W rated motor, over the 750W e-bike limit.Model page: Sixthreezero EVRYjourney Family Cargo ETrike 1000W
- Worksman PAV3 Stretch Lightning ElectricCheck before buying800W rated motor, over the 750W e-bike limit.Model page: Worksman PAV3 Stretch Lightning Electric
Show the 135 that fit the rules
- Actbest Triker · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 18 mph
- Actbest Triker Plus · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 16 mph
- Addmotor Arisetan II M-360 · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Arisetan II M-360 Mini · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Citytan M-315 500W · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Citytan M-315 750W · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Citytri E-310 · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Citytri E-310 Plus · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor E-325 Family Cargo Trike · E-bike (class not stated), 15 mph
- Addmotor Freetan M-368X · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Freetri E-361 · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Grandtan M-340 · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Grandtan M-340 Plus · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Grandtan X · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Greattan L Dual battery · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Greattan L Single battery · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Landtan M-300 · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor M-380 Tandem Dual battery · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor M-380 Tandem Single battery · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Soletri II M-366X · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Addmotor Soletri II M-366X Herotri II M-365X (high-step) · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Addmotor SpytanX · E-bike (class not stated), 15 mph
- Addmotor Triketan M-330 · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Triketan M-330 Mini · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Triketan M-330F · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor U-Trike U-710 · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor U-Trike U-750 · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Bunch Bikes The K9 4+ · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Bunch Bikes The Original 4+ · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Bunch Bikes The Preschool 4+ · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Buzz Cerana T2 · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Catrike 5.5.9 eCAT · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- Catrike All Road eCAT · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- Catrike Dumont eCAT · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Catrike Expedition eCAT · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- Catrike MAX eCAT · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- Catrike Pocket eCAT · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- Catrike Trail eCAT · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- Catrike Villager eCAT · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- Christiania Classic Straight Cargo Trike (Mid Drive) · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 15.5 mph
- Christiania Model T Taxi & Trishaw Electric · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 15.5 mph
- Emojo Bison Pro · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Emojo Bull · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Emojo Bull Trail Dual Battery · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Emojo Bull Trail Single Battery · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Emojo Bull Trail Urban Cruiser Dual Battery · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Emojo Bull Trail Urban Cruiser Single Battery · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Emojo Caddy Pro · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Emojo Dexter Dual Battery · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Emojo Dexter Jr. · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Emojo Dexter Single Battery · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- ENVO Veemo SE · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Eskute T300 · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 18 mph
- Eskute T300 Max · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 18 mph
- Eskute T300 Pro · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 16 mph
- Eunorau NEW-TRIKE 2.0 · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Eunorau ONE-TRIKE 2.0 · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Eunorau T1 Recumbent Trike · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Evelo Compass · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- ICE Adventure (E-Assist) · E-bike (class not stated), 15.5 mph
- ICE Full Fat (E-Assist) · E-bike (class not stated), 15.5 mph
- Jasion JT18 eTrike · E-bike (class not stated), 16 mph
- Lectric XP Trike2 500W (base) · Class 1 or 2 e-bike, throttle, 14 mph
- Lectric XP Trike2 750 Long-Range · Class 1 or 2 e-bike, throttle, 17 mph
- Liberty Trike Freedom 16" · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 12 mph
- Liberty Trike Freedom 20" · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 16 mph
- Meet One Breeze 2.0 · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Meet One Breeze Pro 2.0 Dual 20Ah + 20Ah · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Meet One Breeze Pro 2.0 Single 20Ah · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Meet One Pair (Passenger) · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Meet One Tour Lite 2.0 · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Mokwheel Granite · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Mooncool FT1 Fat Tire Electric Trike · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 15.5 mph
- Mooncool TK Pro · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 15.5 mph
- Mooncool TK2 · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 15.5 mph
- Mooncool TK2 Pro · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 15.5 mph
- Nakto S03 · E-bike (class not stated), 12 mph
- NARRAK N3 · E-bike (class not stated), 16 mph
- NARRAK N6 · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- NARRAK N8 · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- NARRAK S180 · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Pedego Fat Tire Trike · E-bike (class not stated), 15 mph
- Pedego Trike · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 10 mph
- Puckipuppy Alaskan · E-bike (class not stated), 15 mph
- Puckipuppy Husky · E-bike (class not stated), 15 mph
- Puckipuppy Husky Plus · E-bike (class not stated), 15 mph
- Puckipuppy Rottweiler · E-bike (class not stated), 15 mph
- Retrospec Boca Rev 2 · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 14 mph
- Sixthreezero EVRYjourney Electric Trike Tandem 750W · E-bike (class not stated), 16 mph
- Sixthreezero EVRYjourney Recumbent Rickshaw 750W · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Sixthreezero EVRYjourney Rickshaw 1000W mid-drive · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Sixthreezero EVRYjourney Rickshaw 750W (2026, hitch) · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Sixthreezero EVRYjourney Rickshaw Dual 750W, dual battery (42Ah) · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Sixthreezero EVRYjourney Trike · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 16 mph
- Sixthreezero Fat Tire Reverse E Trike · E-bike (class not stated), 16 mph
- Sixthreezero Relaxed Body 750W Electric Tricycle · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Sixthreezero Simple Glide Fat Tire 750W Recumbent E Trike w/ Footrest · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Sixthreezero Simple Glide Laid Back 750W Recumbent ETrike · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Sixthreezero Simple Step Thru Fat Tire Electric Trike · E-bike (class not stated), 16 mph
- Sun Bicycles E350-B1 Electric Trike · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 10 mph
- Sun Seeker E-Delta B1 SX Electric Delta · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 15 mph
- Sun Seeker E-Eco Tad B1 SX Electric Tadpole · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 15 mph
- TerraTrike All Terrain e+ · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- TerraTrike Gran Tourismo e+ · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- TerraTrike GTS e+ · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- TerraTrike Rambler e+ · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- TerraTrike Rebel e+ · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- TerraTrike Rogue e+ · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- TerraTrike Rover Tandem e+ · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- TerraTrike Spyder e+ · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- TerraTrike Tandem Pro Charge · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- TerraTrike Traveler e+ · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- Tiniover Creek (Passenger) · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Tiniover Creek Pro (Passenger) · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Tiniover River Full Suspension · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Tri-Rider (Belize) E-Trike Li 24in · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Tri-Rider (Belize) Elek-Trike 24in · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 8 mph
- Van Raam Easy Rider · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 15.5 mph
- Van Raam Easy Rider Compact+ · E-bike (class not stated), 15.5 mph
- Van Raam Easy Sport · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 15.5 mph
- Van Raam Maxi · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 15.5 mph
- Velotric Triker · Class 1 or 2 e-bike, throttle
- Viribus 16 inch Folding Electric Tricycle · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 9 mph
- Viribus FC1 Folding · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Viribus FC2 Folding · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Viribus ST1 Folding · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Viribus TG1 250W · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 12.4 mph
- Viribus TG1 350W upgrade · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 15.5 mph
- Viribus TG1 Folding · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 15.5 mph
- Viribus TG1 Plus · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 15.5 mph
- VIVI T01 · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 15.5 mph
- Worksman E-PALR-3CB Personal Activity Low Rider · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 10 mph
- Worksman Mover E-M2020-3CB Lightning · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 10 mph
- Worksman PAV3-3CB Lightning Electric · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 10 mph
- Worksman Side-by-Side Electric Lightning SBST-3CB-HB · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 10 mph
Every rule, with its source
- License
- motorized bicycle A motorized bicycle is not a 'motor vehicle' in DC, so no driver's license is required under the Code. D.C. Code § 50-2201.02(11) ↗
- Registration
- motorized bicycle Motorized bicycles are excluded from 'motor vehicle' for DC titling and registration, so no DMV registration, title or plate. D.C. Code § 50-1501.01(1) ↗
- Insurance
- motorized bicycle No insurance requirement was found for motorized bicycles; DC's insurance and registration duties attach to motor vehicles, which exclude them. D.C. Code § 50-2201.02(11); § 50-1501.01(1) ↗
- Helmet
- Riders and passengers under 16 must wear a helmet on a bicycle; the statute is written for human-powered bicycles, so whether it reaches motorized bicycles depends on DCMR rules (see unconfirmed). Adults are not required to wear one. D.C. Code § 50-1605(a); § 50-1609(1) ↗
- Bike paths and trails
- On National Park Service land in DC (e.g., Rock Creek Park, the National Mall, much of the riverfront trail network), e-bikes may use only roads and trails the superintendent opens to them, and long throttle-only riding without pedaling is barred where cars are not allowed. 36 C.F.R. § 4.30(i) ↗
- Also good to know
- motorized bicycle Motorized-bicycle riders count as 'riders' who may treat stop signs as yields and follow pedestrian walk signals, after checking it is safe and yielding. D.C. Code § 50-2201.02(14A); § 50-2201.04d ↗
- DC's DUI law covers 'any vehicle', and 'vehicle' includes any wheeled appliance, so riding an e-bike or e-trike impaired is DUI. D.C. Code § 50-2206.11; § 50-2206.01 ('vehicle') ↗
- DC's e-bike rebate/voucher program (for DC residents 18+, subject to funding) covers e-bikes and e-cargo bikes meeting the 2-or-3-wheel, 20-mph definition and UL 2849 safety certification. D.C. Code § 50-921.27 ↗
What's new, and what cities add
- None found for 2025-2026 enacted · effective n/a No enacted 2025-2026 DC law changing the motorized-bicycle definition or rules was found in the codified DC Code (definition last set by D.C. Law 23-203, Shared Fleet Devices Amendment Act of 2020, eff. 2021-03-16). The e-bike incentive program (D.C. Law 25-66, eff. 2023-11-28) was amended by D.C. Law 25-217 (eff. 2024-09-18). DC Council pending bills could not be searched. Source ↗
- 18 DCMR ch. 12 final rulemaking 'Motorized Bicycles on Shared Use Paths' (69 DCR 014965) enacted · effective 2022-12-09 DDOT rule amending 18 DCMR §§ 1201 and 1299 on motorized bicycles on shared-use paths. Text could not be retrieved; see unconfirmed. Source ↗
- National Park Service lands in DC: Federal rule 36 C.F.R. § 4.30(i) applies: e-bikes only where the park superintendent designates; check the National Mall and Memorial Parks, Rock Creek Park and George Washington Memorial Parkway compendiums. Source ↗
What we couldn't confirm from official sources (6)
- 18 DCMR § 1201 (Safe Operation of Bicycles and Motorized Bicycles, as amended 12/9/2022) sets the operating rules for motorized bicycles: minimum age (commonly reported as 16), sidewalk ban, and use of shared-use paths. DCRegs serves the text only as a download that could not be retrieved, so none of these are cited as rules here.
- Content of DDOT's 2022 'Motorized Bicycles on Shared Use Paths' final rule (69 DCR 014965): reportedly allows motorized bicycles on DDOT shared-use paths, possibly with a speed limit. Not verified.
- Sidewalk riding: ordinary bicycles may ride on sidewalks outside the Central Business District under 18 DCMR § 1201; whether motorized bicycles may do so was not verified.
- Whether the under-16 helmet rule (§ 50-1605) applies to motorized bicycles (the § 50-1609 'bicycle' definition says human-powered).
- Pending DC Council bills on e-bikes in Council Period 26 (2025-2026) could not be searched (LIMS is a JavaScript app and its API returned errors).
- Definitions of 'moped' and 'motor-driven cycle' (18 DCMR § 9901.1) and exact requirements for over-20-mph e-bikes were not retrieved.
This page explains the law in plain language. It is not legal advice. Cities, counties and park agencies can add their own rules; check posted signs and confirm with your state before you ride.