Georgia e-bike and e-trike laws
In short
Yes. Georgia's law covers e-bikes with "two or three wheels," so an e-trike up to 750 watts is an e-bike. You don't need a license, registration or insurance. You can ride on roads and bike lanes. Class 1 and 2 are also allowed on most bike paths, but you can't ride on sidewalks, and Georgia State Parks allow only Class 1.
Does an e-trike count as an e-bike here? Yes.
- License
- No driver license or permit is needed to ride an e-bike.
- Registration
- E-bikes are not registered or titled, and they are not 'motor vehicles' in Georgia.
- Insurance
- No proof of insurance is required (per Georgia DPS guidance).
- Helmet
- Riders 15 and younger must wear a helmet on any bike, including Class I/II e-bikes.
- Minimum age
- You must be at least 15 to operate a Class III e-bike (younger riders may be passengers on one built for passengers). No state minimum age for Class I or II. (Class III)
- Where you can ride
- E-bike riders have the same rights and duties as bicycle riders, so they can use roads and bike lanes.
- Sidewalks
- No riding on sidewalks except driveways, and children under 12 where a local ordinance allows it.
Three wheels
Does an e-trike count as an e-bike?
Yes
“'Electric assisted bicycle' means a device with two or three wheels which has a saddle and fully operative pedals for human propulsion and also has an electric motor having a power output of not more than 750 watts.”O.C.G.A. § 40-1-1(15.3) (as amended by HB 454, 2019) ↗
Classes
The e-bike classes
Outside the classes
Treated as a moped (≤2 brake hp, ≤30 mph, two or three wheels) or motorcycle.
driver license or permit (moped); Class M license (motorcycle)helmet (moped/motorcycle)registration and insurance (motorcycle; per DPS, mopeds are not registered)
Georgia's moped definition covers two or three wheels. Per Georgia DPS: moped - no registration, no proof of insurance, license or permit required, must be 15+; motorcycle - registration, Class M license and insurance required.
Trikes in our guide
How the trikes we list are treated in Georgia
136 of the 191 trikes we list fit Georgia's e-bike rules on their published figures. 11 need checking before you buy, and 44 don't publish enough to tell. We check motor power, top speed and the stated class. Not legal advice.
- Addmotor Grandtan TurboCheck before buying1000W motor is over the 750W limit.Model page: Addmotor Grandtan Turbo
- Aipas A8 Max Trekker EtrikeCheck before buying1300W motor is over the 750W limit.Model page: Aipas A8 Max Trekker Etrike
- CroSight T3 Classic 650WCheck before buying22 mph top speed, over the 20 mph Class 1–2 limit.Model page: CroSight T3 Classic 650W
- CroSight T3 Classic 750WCheck before buying22 mph top speed, over the 20 mph Class 1–2 limit.Model page: CroSight T3 Classic 750W
- CroSight T3 ProCheck before buying22 mph top speed, over the 20 mph Class 1–2 limit.Model page: CroSight T3 Pro
- Meet One Tour 2.0Check before buying25 mph top speed, over the 20 mph Class 1–2 limit.Model page: Meet One Tour 2.0
- Rungu Dualie RuggedCheck before buying1000W motor is over the 750W limit.Model page: Rungu Dualie Rugged
- Rungu Dualie StandardCheck before buying1000W motor is over the 750W limit.Model page: Rungu Dualie Standard
- Rungu Dualie SteepCheck before buying1000W motor is over the 750W limit.Model page: Rungu Dualie Steep
- Sixthreezero EVRYjourney Family Cargo ETrike 1000WCheck before buying1000W motor is over the 750W limit.Model page: Sixthreezero EVRYjourney Family Cargo ETrike 1000W
- Worksman PAV3 Stretch Lightning ElectricCheck before buying800W motor is over the 750W limit.Model page: Worksman PAV3 Stretch Lightning Electric
Show the 136 that fit the rules
- Actbest Triker · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 18 mph
- Actbest Triker Plus · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 16 mph
- Addmotor Arisetan II M-360 · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Arisetan II M-360 Mini · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Citytan M-315 500W · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Citytan M-315 750W · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Citytri E-310 · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Citytri E-310 Plus · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor E-325 Family Cargo Trike · E-bike (class not stated), 15 mph
- Addmotor Freetan M-368X · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Freetri E-361 · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Grandtan M-340 · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Grandtan M-340 Plus · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Grandtan X · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Greattan L Dual battery · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Greattan L Single battery · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Landtan M-300 · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor M-380 Tandem Dual battery · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor M-380 Tandem Single battery · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Soletri II M-366X · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Addmotor Soletri II M-366X Herotri II M-365X (high-step) · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Addmotor SpytanX · E-bike (class not stated), 15 mph
- Addmotor Triketan M-330 · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Triketan M-330 Mini · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Triketan M-330F · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor U-Trike U-710 · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor U-Trike U-750 · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Bunch Bikes The K9 4+ · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Bunch Bikes The Original 4+ · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Bunch Bikes The Preschool 4+ · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Buzz Cerana T2 · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Catrike 5.5.9 eCAT · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- Catrike All Road eCAT · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- Catrike Dumont eCAT · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Catrike Expedition eCAT · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- Catrike MAX eCAT · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- Catrike Pocket eCAT · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- Catrike Trail eCAT · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- Catrike Villager eCAT · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- Christiania Classic Straight Cargo Trike (Mid Drive) · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 15.5 mph
- Christiania Model T Taxi & Trishaw Electric · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 15.5 mph
- Emojo Bison Pro · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Emojo Bull · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Emojo Bull Trail Dual Battery · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Emojo Bull Trail Single Battery · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Emojo Bull Trail Urban Cruiser Dual Battery · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Emojo Bull Trail Urban Cruiser Single Battery · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Emojo Caddy Pro · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Emojo Dexter Dual Battery · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Emojo Dexter Jr. · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Emojo Dexter Single Battery · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- ENVO Veemo SE · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Eskute T300 · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 18 mph
- Eskute T300 Max · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 18 mph
- Eskute T300 Pro · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 16 mph
- Eunorau NEW-TRIKE 2.0 · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Eunorau ONE-TRIKE 2.0 · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Eunorau T1 Recumbent Trike · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Evelo Compass · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- HP Velotechnik Scorpion fs 26 S-Pedelec · Class 3 e-bike, 28 mph
- ICE Adventure (E-Assist) · E-bike (class not stated), 15.5 mph
- ICE Full Fat (E-Assist) · E-bike (class not stated), 15.5 mph
- Jasion JT18 eTrike · E-bike (class not stated), 16 mph
- Lectric XP Trike2 500W (base) · Class 1 or 2 e-bike, throttle, 14 mph
- Lectric XP Trike2 750 Long-Range · Class 1 or 2 e-bike, throttle, 17 mph
- Liberty Trike Freedom 16" · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 12 mph
- Liberty Trike Freedom 20" · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 16 mph
- Meet One Breeze 2.0 · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Meet One Breeze Pro 2.0 Dual 20Ah + 20Ah · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Meet One Breeze Pro 2.0 Single 20Ah · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Meet One Pair (Passenger) · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Meet One Tour Lite 2.0 · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Mokwheel Granite · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Mooncool FT1 Fat Tire Electric Trike · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 15.5 mph
- Mooncool TK Pro · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 15.5 mph
- Mooncool TK2 · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 15.5 mph
- Mooncool TK2 Pro · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 15.5 mph
- Nakto S03 · E-bike (class not stated), 12 mph
- NARRAK N3 · E-bike (class not stated), 16 mph
- NARRAK N6 · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- NARRAK N8 · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- NARRAK S180 · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Pedego Fat Tire Trike · E-bike (class not stated), 15 mph
- Pedego Trike · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 10 mph
- Puckipuppy Alaskan · E-bike (class not stated), 15 mph
- Puckipuppy Husky · E-bike (class not stated), 15 mph
- Puckipuppy Husky Plus · E-bike (class not stated), 15 mph
- Puckipuppy Rottweiler · E-bike (class not stated), 15 mph
- Retrospec Boca Rev 2 · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 14 mph
- Sixthreezero EVRYjourney Electric Trike Tandem 750W · E-bike (class not stated), 16 mph
- Sixthreezero EVRYjourney Recumbent Rickshaw 750W · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Sixthreezero EVRYjourney Rickshaw 1000W mid-drive · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Sixthreezero EVRYjourney Rickshaw 750W (2026, hitch) · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Sixthreezero EVRYjourney Rickshaw Dual 750W, dual battery (42Ah) · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Sixthreezero EVRYjourney Trike · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 16 mph
- Sixthreezero Fat Tire Reverse E Trike · E-bike (class not stated), 16 mph
- Sixthreezero Relaxed Body 750W Electric Tricycle · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Sixthreezero Simple Glide Fat Tire 750W Recumbent E Trike w/ Footrest · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Sixthreezero Simple Glide Laid Back 750W Recumbent ETrike · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Sixthreezero Simple Step Thru Fat Tire Electric Trike · E-bike (class not stated), 16 mph
- Sun Bicycles E350-B1 Electric Trike · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 10 mph
- Sun Seeker E-Delta B1 SX Electric Delta · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 15 mph
- Sun Seeker E-Eco Tad B1 SX Electric Tadpole · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 15 mph
- TerraTrike All Terrain e+ · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- TerraTrike Gran Tourismo e+ · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- TerraTrike GTS e+ · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- TerraTrike Rambler e+ · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- TerraTrike Rebel e+ · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- TerraTrike Rogue e+ · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- TerraTrike Rover Tandem e+ · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- TerraTrike Spyder e+ · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- TerraTrike Tandem Pro Charge · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- TerraTrike Traveler e+ · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- Tiniover Creek (Passenger) · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Tiniover Creek Pro (Passenger) · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Tiniover River Full Suspension · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Tri-Rider (Belize) E-Trike Li 24in · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Tri-Rider (Belize) Elek-Trike 24in · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 8 mph
- Van Raam Easy Rider · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 15.5 mph
- Van Raam Easy Rider Compact+ · E-bike (class not stated), 15.5 mph
- Van Raam Easy Sport · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 15.5 mph
- Van Raam Maxi · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 15.5 mph
- Velotric Triker · Class 1 or 2 e-bike, throttle
- Viribus 16 inch Folding Electric Tricycle · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 9 mph
- Viribus FC1 Folding · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Viribus FC2 Folding · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Viribus ST1 Folding · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Viribus TG1 250W · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 12.4 mph
- Viribus TG1 350W upgrade · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 15.5 mph
- Viribus TG1 Folding · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 15.5 mph
- Viribus TG1 Plus · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 15.5 mph
- VIVI T01 · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 15.5 mph
- Worksman E-PALR-3CB Personal Activity Low Rider · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 10 mph
- Worksman Mover E-M2020-3CB Lightning · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 10 mph
- Worksman PAV3-3CB Lightning Electric · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 10 mph
- Worksman Side-by-Side Electric Lightning SBST-3CB-HB · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 10 mph
The rules
Every rule, with its source
- License
- No driver license or permit is needed to ride an e-bike. O.C.G.A. § 40-6-351 (as amended by HB 454) ↗
- Registration
- E-bikes are not registered or titled, and they are not 'motor vehicles' in Georgia. O.C.G.A. § 40-1-1(33); Ga. DPS DPS-34 ↗
- Insurance
- No proof of insurance is required (per Georgia DPS guidance). O.C.G.A. §§ 40-6-10, 33-34-4 as applied in Ga. DPS DPS-34 (07/2023) ↗
- Helmet
- Class III Every Class III rider and passenger must wear a bicycle helmet, at any age. O.C.G.A. § 40-6-303(c)(1) ↗
- Riders 15 and younger must wear a helmet on any bike, including Class I/II e-bikes. O.C.G.A. § 40-6-296 (per Georgia State Parks, DNR) ↗
- Minimum age
- Class III You must be at least 15 to operate a Class III e-bike (younger riders may be passengers on one built for passengers). No state minimum age for Class I or II. O.C.G.A. § 40-6-303(b) ↗
- Where you can ride
- E-bike riders have the same rights and duties as bicycle riders, so they can use roads and bike lanes. O.C.G.A. § 40-6-301 ↗
- Sidewalks
- No riding on sidewalks except driveways, and children under 12 where a local ordinance allows it. O.C.G.A. § 40-6-144 (per Ga. DPS DPS-34) ↗
- Bike paths and trails
- Class I Class I and II may use any bike path or shared-use path where bikes are allowed, unless the local or state agency in charge bans them. O.C.G.A. § 40-6-303(a)(1) ↗
- Class II Same as Class I: allowed on bike and shared-use paths unless the managing agency prohibits them. O.C.G.A. § 40-6-303(a)(1) ↗
- Class III Class III is NOT allowed on bike or shared-use paths unless the path runs along a highway or the managing agency permits it. O.C.G.A. § 40-6-303(a)(2) ↗
- State parks
- Class I Georgia State Parks allow only Class 1 e-bikes, on roads and trails that allow bicycles. Georgia State Parks (DNR), Biking ↗
- Labels
- E-bikes made on or after Jan. 1, 2020 must have a permanent label showing class, motor wattage and top assisted speed. O.C.G.A. § 40-6-302(a) ↗
- Also good to know
- Class III Class III e-bikes must have a speedometer showing mph. O.C.G.A. § 40-6-302(d) ↗
- DUI law applies to e-bike riders. O.C.G.A. §§ 40-6-391, 40-6-291 (per Ga. DPS DPS-34) ↗
- At night you need a headlight and a taillight or rear reflector; the motor must cut out when you stop pedaling or brake. O.C.G.A. §§ 40-6-296, 40-6-302(c) ↗
Statutes and sources
HB 454 (2019), as passed and signed - enacted text of §§ 40-1-1(15.3), 40-6-300 to -303, 40-6-351 ↗Georgia DPS 'Charging Low-Speed & Small Vehicles' (DPS-34, 07/2023) ↗Georgia DPS - Georgia Code: Low Speed Vehicles (outdated pre-2019 definition) ↗Georgia State Parks - Biking ↗
What we couldn't confirm from official sources (4)
- Current codified text of O.C.G.A. §§ 40-6-300 to -303 (official Lexis public code / Justia returned 403); rules taken from the enacted HB 454 text. No later amendments found.
- HB 454's amendment to § 40-6-351 appears in the signed PDF without strike/underline formatting; Georgia DPS reads it as no age limit for Class I/II and 15+ for Class III, which matches § 40-6-303(b).
- No 2025-2026 Georgia e-bike bill was found enacted; a 'Micromobility Traffic Safety Act of 2026' concept is mentioned only in secondary sources.
- The under-16 helmet rule for bicycles is O.C.G.A. § 40-6-296(e); statute text not loaded directly (confirmed via Georgia State Parks page).
This page explains the law in plain language. It is not legal advice. Cities, counties and park agencies can add their own rules; check posted signs and confirm with your state before you ride.
Other states
AlabamaAlaskaArizonaArkansasCaliforniaColoradoConnecticutDelawareDistrict of ColumbiaFloridaHawaiiIdahoIllinoisIndianaIowaKansasKentuckyLouisianaMaineMarylandMassachusettsMichiganMinnesotaMississippiMissouriMontanaNebraskaNevadaNew HampshireNew JerseyNew MexicoNew YorkNorth CarolinaNorth DakotaOhioOklahomaOregonPennsylvaniaRhode IslandSouth CarolinaSouth DakotaTennesseeTexasUtahVermontVirginiaWashingtonWest VirginiaWisconsinWyoming